Field Class

2019 Schedule:

FEBRUARY

Feb 11-12 | 870
Feb 13 | 700
FULL
Open
Peoria, AZ Peoria Police Dept
8351 W Cinnabar ave
Chris Dugan 623-773-8907
christopher.dugan@peoriaaz.gov
Feb 18-19 | 870 Open Sanford, FL Seminole Co SO
2772 Depot St
Ryan Pampe 407-474-5122
rpampe@seminolesheriff.org

MARCH

Mar 4-5 | 870
Mar 6 | 700
FULL
FULL
Las Vegas, NV NV Highway Patrol
4615 W Sunset Rd
Nate Peterson 702-432-5147
NPeterson@dps.state.nv.us
Mar 11-12 | 870
Mar 13 | 700
FULL
Open
Austin, TX CAPCOG Regional LE Academy
6800 Burleson Rd
Building 310 Ste 165
Randy Holmes 512-916-6161
rholmes@capcog.org
Mar 18-19 | 870
Mar 20 | 700
Mar 21-22 | AR15
FULL
Open
Open
Marianna, FL Chipola College
3052 Calhoun Rd
Steven Stewart 850-718-2286
stewarts@chipola.edu

APRIL

Apr 8-9 | 870
Apr 10 | 700
Apr 11-12 | AR15
FULL
Open
Open
Newman Lake, WA Spokane Sheriffs training center
6011 N Chase Rd
Brian Moen 509-477-3211
scsotraining@spokanesheriff.org
Apr 15-16 | 870
Apr 17 | 700
FULL
Open
Brentwood, TN Brentwood PD
5211 Maryland Way
Alan Hardcastle 615-577-6041
alan.hardcastle@brentwoodtn.gov
Apr 22-23 | 870
Apr 24 | 700
Apr 25-26 | 870
FULL
Open
FULL
Fairbanks, AK ADF&G
1501 College Rd
John Wyman 907-459-7292
john.wyman@alaska.gov
Apr 24-25 | 870 Open Davis, CA DAVIS PD
2600 Fifth St
Lt Thomas Waltz 530-747-5423
TWaltz@cityofdavis.org

MAY

May 6-7 | 870
May 8 | 700
May 9-10 | AR15
FULL
Open
Open
Leawood, KS Leawood Police Dept
4201 Town Center Dr.nter Dr
Shane Chambers 913-642-5555 x338
P246@leawood.org
May 13-14 | 870 Open Minneapolis, MN Minneapolis Police Dept
1925 Plymouth Ave N
Anthony Caspers 612-673-5710
Anthony.Caspers@minneapolismn.gov

JUNE

Jun 3-4 | 870
Jun 5-6 | 870
FULL
FULL
Crozier, VA Academy for Staff Development
1900 River Rd West
Capt James Welch 804-784-6833
james.welch@vadoc.virginia.gov
Jun 10-11 | 870
Jun 12-13 | 870
FULL
Open
Helena, MT Montana Wild Center
2668 Broadwater Avenue
Justin Gibson (406) 444-4726
JGibson@mt.gov
Jun 17-18 | 870
Jun 19 | 1187
Jun 20-21 | AR15
FULL
Open
Open
Columbia, SC SC Criminal Justice Academy Range
5400 Broad River Road
John McMahan JPMcMahan@sccja.sc.gov

JULY

Jul 8-9 | 870
Jul 10 | 700
Jul 11-12 | 870
FULL
Open
Open
Grinnel, IA Brownells, Inc.
3006 Brownells Parkway
Brad Thompson 641-623-5401
brad.thompson@brownells.com
Jul 15-16 | 870
Jul 17-18 | 870
FULL
FULL
Apex, NC NC DPS
2211 Schieffelin Road
Jesse Swartz 919-589-5437
jesse.swartz@ncdps.gov
July 30-31 | 870
Aug 1 | 700
Aug 2 | 1187
Open
Open
Open
Stapleton, AL APOSTC LE Academy Baldwin Co.
15950 Mosley Rd
Michael Miyaji 251-937-1840
mmiyaji@baldwincountyal.gov

AUGUST

Aug 5-6 | 870
Aug 7 | 700
Aug 8-9 | AR15
FULL
Open
Open
Ft. Worth, TX Tarrant County College NW Campus
4801 Marine Creek Pkwy
Adam Bush 817-515-7573
adam.bush@tccd.edu
Aug 19-20 | 870
Aug 21 | 700
Aug 22-23 | 870
FULL
Open
Open
Milwaukee, WI Milwaukee Police Dept
6680 N Teutonia Ave
Adam Bradley 414-935-7024
ambrad@milwaukee.gov
Aug 26-27 | 870
Aug 28 | 700
Aug 29-30 | 870
FULL
Open
Open
Oklahoma City, OK Oklahoma Co SO
4001 N Air Depot Blvd
Britain Oxley 405-593-1320
tharol.oxley@oklahomacounty.org

SEPTEMBER

Sept 9-10 | 870
Sept 11 | 700
Sept 12-13 | AR15
Open
Open
Open
Clinton Twp, MI Macomb Criminal Justice TC
21901 Dunham Rd
Richard Voelker 586-498-4062
voelkerr@macomb.edu
Sept 23-24 | 870 Open Westminster, CO Westminster PD
9110 Yates St
David Acunto 303-658-4417
dacunto@cityofwestminster.us

OCTOBER

Sept 30-Oct 1 | 870
Oct 2 | 700
Oct 3-4 | 870
FULL
Open
Open
Salinas, CA Salinas Police Dept
1414 Natividad Rd
Mark Marquez 831-759-7254
MarquezMA@co.monterey.ca.us
Oct 7-8 | 870
Oct 9-10 | 870
FULL
Open
Newman Lake, WA Spokane Sheriffs Training Center
6011 N Chase Rd
Brian Moen 509-477-3211
scsotraining@spokanesheriff.org
Oct 14-15 | 870
Oct 16 | 700
Open
Open
Mandan, ND Sanford Officers Training Center
201 14th ST NW
Tim Erickson 701-328-5500
tjerickson@nd.gov
Oct 21-22 | 870
Oct 23 | 1187
Oct 24 | 700
FULL
FULL
FULL
Honolulu, HI Honolulu Police Dept
93-093 Waipahu Depot St
Sgt Clement Enoka 808-723-8375
cenoka@honolulu.gov

NOVEMBER

Nov 4-5 | 870
Nov 6 | 700
Nov 7-8 | AR15
Open
Open
Open
Pearl, MS MS LEO training Academy
3791 Hwy 468 West
Lt. Dan Rawlinson 601-933-2139
drawlinson@dps.ms.gov
Nov 4-5 | 870
Nov 6 | 700
Nov 7-8 | AR15
Open
Open
Open
Tuscaloosa, AL Law Enforcement Academy Tuscaloosa
7601 Robert Cardinal Rd
Sgt. Wesley Jacobs 205-759-3000
wjacobs1@tuscaloosa.com
Nov 11-12 | 870
Nov 13 | 700
Nov 14-15 | 870
FULL
Open
Open
Corona, CA Corona Police Dept
730 Public Safety Way
Jeff Hedtke 951-736-2346
jeff.hedtke@coronaca.gov

DECEMBER

Dec 9-10 | 870
Dec 11 | 700
Dec 12-13 | 870
Open
Open
Open
London, OH OPOTA
1960 US HWY 42 SW
Jerry Zacharius jerry.zacharias@ohioattorneygeneral.gov
Dec 9-10 | 870
Dec 11 | 700
Dec 12-13 | 870
Open
Open
Open
Elizabethtown, PA PA DOC
1451 north market street
Jeremy Chilcote 717 361 4383
jchilcote@pa.gov

Field School Instruction Tuition:

  • Model 870 Class : $475.00 per attendee (2 days)
  • Model 11-87 Class: $250.00 per attendee (1 day)
  • Model 700 Class: $250.00 per attendee (1 day)
  • Model 7615 Class: $250.00 per attendee (1 day)
  • Bushmaster AR15 Class: $475.00 per attendee (2 days)

Tuition (U.S. Funds Only) payable at least 45 days in advance of the scheduled class unless other arrangements are made with Remington for payment.

Course content includes instruction for the specified models.

  • Materials Overview – All tools and documents to be used during the course will be outlined briefly to familiarize each armorer with the materials they will need to effectively maintain and repair the weapon system.
  • Function Recap – This section will revisit the user-controls and functions covered in the Operator-Level course to help prepare the armorer to build an understanding of what components are in the weapon and the purpose that each serves.
  • Armorers will become familiar with the major sub-assemblies and how to remove them for service.
  • Cycle of Operations – This portion of the course will teach the armorer how each of the cycle functions are performed within the weapon. Each function will be covered in order of occurrence, with an emphasis on identifying each component and understanding its relationship to the other components in the system.
  • Armorer Level Inspection – This section will familiarize the armorer with the process of a conducting a thorough and documented inspection of the weapon system. Throughout this portion of the training, each armorer will perform an actual inspection on the weapon they are using for the course.
  • Troubleshooting Procedures – This section will draw together all of the information covered in earlier sections and provide the armorer with methods to effectively identify malfunctions and determine how best to resolve them in order return a weapon to safe operational service.
  • Maintenance Procedures – This section will cover all aspects of routine cleaning and maintenance. After completing this section each armorer will be well prepared to develop a maintenance policy and schedule that suits their particular unit and application.

The field class registration form must be submitted by each attending student to Remington and a copy sent to the host agency. This ensures the host agency is aware of any and all applicants. International students must submit a registration form to Remington and a copy of thier passport at least 10 weeks before class so a license can be obtained from the State Department.

Remington provides all training aids, printed material, test and evaluation sheets. Tools are provided for the student's use during class.
EACH STUDENT MUST BRING A LAW ENFORCEMENT TYPE MODEL 870 OR 1187 FOR CLASS INSTRUCTION ON THAT MODEL. IF REGISTERING FOR A MODEL 700 ACTION WILL BE PROVIDED FOR CLASS INSTRUCTION BY THE INSTRUCTOR.

Each student receives a certificate of training upon successful completion of the course: the certificate is valid for a period of three (3) years. Students must attend the entire 1 or 2 day course.

Please send checks to Remington with a copy of the registration form, sales order confirmation, or invoice. Checks should be made out to "Remington Arms Co., Inc." Credit cards or purchase orders may also be used.